Week 13

I am now in Week 13 of CECS 5510. Only 4 more weeks left, and I’ll be done with this class and this master’s program! At this point I have finished a draft of my course in Canvas, and all I have left to do for the project is to review the course to make sure I didn’t forget anything and make final revisions based on feedback that I receive.

As I mentioned in a previous post, the most challenging part of the project has been paying attention to the details. It’s making sure that I have a rubric for each assignment, and that I have the “Use this rubric for assignment grading” box checked. It’s making sure that wiki pages have both teachers and students selected for who can edit the page. I just clicked through all the rubrics, for example, and saw that I had forgotten to select that “Use this rubric for assignment grading” box for about 10 different rubrics. There are so many different parts and options to consider that it can be difficult to keep track of them all. You just have to do the best you can do and reassure yourself that anything you miss, the students can point out to the instructor or you for course improvement. It won’t be the end of the world.

Fortunately, I was able to meet my timeline for completion. In fact, I actually beat it, since after reading about and completing assignments, I soon realized that the timeline I had drafted at the beginning of the semester did not align with the due dates of certain assignments (e.g., We had to have our entire course completed by last week, so that our assigned peer could review it this week). (So, for any future students of CECS 5510, keep that in mind when you’re drafting your timeline in Week 2!)

Being able to find wonderfully appropriate YouTube videos made by awesome teachers for my lessons helped a bunch. I am so grateful that I did not have to make those videos myself from scratch, because these teachers did a much better job than I could have done in my given timeframe. Why reinvent the wheel when you don’t have to, right?

The course structure of CECS 5510 does not have us implement and evaluate our designed course as part of the project, but I do hope to be able to implement and evaluate one day. Because my full-time job is in the corporate world, I will not be able to be an instructor for my designed course with an actual 9th grade class, but I do plan on sharing my course  in Canvas Commons, in hopes that a teacher will one day be able to benefit from it!

Leave a Reply

